Sign Into Mailbox

CDC Building, Kirtipur
Natural History Museum, Swayambhu
Office of the Controller of Examination Building, Kathmandu
TU Central Library, Kiritpur

About Us


Tribhuvan University (TU) is the first national institution of higher education in Nepal. It was established in 1959 A.D. The Central Administrative Office and the Central Campus of the university are located on the north eastern facade of Kirtipur, an ancient and small town located five kilometers away from Kathmandu city centre. There are thirty eight central departments and four research centres in TU and out of them 31 departments and 3 research centres are located at Kirtipur. The university at Kirtipur is spread over an area of 154.77 hectares (3042-5-2 ropanis).

After the second democratic movement of 2006, the Prime Minister of Nepal is the ceremonial chief, the Chancellor of the University, while the Minister of Education is the Pro-Chancellor. The Vice Chancellor is the Chief Executive of the university. He is assisted by the Rector in academic programmes and the Registrar in financial management and general administration.

Tribhuvan University is a non-profit making autonomous institution funded by the Government of Nepal. On January 8, 2013, the government of Nepal has principally agreed to declare Tribhuvan University as the Central University.

Objectives of TU

The university was established with the following objectives:

  • – To produce skilled manpower essential for the overall development of Nepal;
  • – To provide quality higher education;
  • – To carry out research in multiple sectors;
  • – To preserve and develop the culture and tradition of the nation; and
  • – To enhance, disseminate and expand the knowledge and research of Arts, Science,   technology and other vocational fields with the changing times.

Councils of TU

There are five councils constituted as major decision-making bodies of the university.

University Council

It is the supreme decision-making body on policies, budget, and rules and regulations for running the university. It consists of 52 members.

Executive Council

Executing the decisions of the university council, making decisions on grants, giving affiliation to private campuses, and appointing the university officials are its major functions. It consists of seven members.

 Academic Council

The academic council makes decisions on educational policies and practices regarding curricula, teaching, examinations and research and comprises of fifty members.

Research Coordination Council

It formulates policies on TU research activities, approves guidelines for researchers and coordinates the functions of university level research organizations. The Research Division is the secretariat of the council which publishes TU Journal, Research Bulletin and Statistical Bulletin. Besides, it monitors mini-researches for teachers. It consists of 27 members.

Planning Council

The planning council performs an advisory role of preparing short and long-term plans, developing annual programmes and evaluating implementation programmes. It consists of twenty-nine members.


TU Council Meeting

Academic Programmes

TU marked its golden jubilee in the year 2009 organizing various programmes. In the 54th year of its establishment, the university family remains committed and dedicated to making it a source and centre of quality education to set up a culture of learning in the country and to promote the notion of national and global peace and harmony. Since its inception, TU, the state owned university, has expanded its programmes in different disciplines. There are five technical institutes and four general faculties. TU offers 50 courses for the technical proficiency certificate level. 1079 courses at Bachelor’s level and 1000 courses at Master’s level. It also offers Ph.D. degree in different disciplines both at the Technical Institutes and Faculties.

TU ran its programmes only through its constituent campuses prior to 1980. As the number of the students willing to acquire higher education was increasing day by day, it was not possible for the university to accommodate all the students in the constituent campuses. This situation led to the establishment of colleges in the private sector.  From 1979 –80, TU started providing affiliation to private colleges to conduct various programmes at different levels. 931 private colleges spread all over the country have so far received affiliations from TU.

In the current academic session (2013-2014) altogether 6,04,437 students have been enrolled at various levels of TU academic programmes. 2,73,349 (45.22%) students study in its 60 constituent campuses including 38 central departments, while 3,31,088 (54.78%) students study in 931 affiliated colleges. It clearly reveals that affiliated colleges do have more students than the constituent campuses.

TU has 7966 teaching faculty and 7230 non-teaching staff including the support staff in its constituent campuses. The total number of employees is 15196 including 124 new post of the Manmohan Cardiothorasic Centre.

Prof. Dr. Hira Bahadur Maharjan


Tribhuvan University
Central Administrative Building
P.O.Box 8212 Kirtipur, Kathmandu, Nepal
Phone: (977-1) 4330433 , Fax: (977-1) 4331964

Prof. Guna Nidhi Nyaupane

Tribhuvan University
Central Administrative Building
P.O. Box. 8212, Kirtipur, Kathmandu, Nepal
Phone: (977-1) 4330336 , Fax: (977-1) 4331964

Prof. Dr. Chandra Mani Poudel

Tribhuvan University
Central Administrative Building
P.O.Box 8212, Kirtipur,Kathmandu, Nepal
Phone: (977-1) 4330436
Fax:(977-1) 4331964

Sign Up NewsLetter

Follow us on Facebook

Hit Counter by technology news